Hot Off the Proverbial Presses: February 24, 2015

24 Feb

No Parking at the End TimesNo Parking at the End Times by Bryan Bliss

Abigail’s parents believed the world was going to end. And—of course—it didn’t. But they’ve lost everything anyway. And she must decide: does she still believe in them? Or is it time to believe in herself? Fans of Sara Zarr, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell will connect with this moving debut.

Abigail’s parents never should have made that first donation to that end-of-times preacher. Or the next, or the next. They shouldn’t have sold their house. Or packed Abigail and her twin brother, Aaron, into their old van to drive across the country to San Francisco, to be there for the “end of the world.” Because now they’re living in their van. And Aaron is full of anger, disappearing to who-knows-where every night. Their family is falling apart. All Abigail wants is to hold them together, to get them back to the place where things were right.

But maybe it’s too big a task for one teenage girl. Bryan Bliss’s thoughtful debut novel is about losing everything—and about what you will do for the people you love.

WHY WE’RE EXCITED: Finally, a rapture novel where people have to deal with the cold hard truth that the rapture is never happening.

Continue reading

“Invader Zim” is Getting a Comic Book Revival (We Are Zim’s Squeedly Spooch)

20 Feb

Excited Gir GIF

The short-lived (yet hilarious) Nickeloden series “Invader Zim” — about an Irken alien seeking world domination — is getting a revival. In comic book form that is.

Thanks for never giving up on it Jhonen Vasquez!

The new chapter in “Invader Zim” will be released through Oni Press on July 1, 2015.

Continue reading

Around the Interwebs: Volume XLIX

14 Feb

This Love Song is Inspired Entirely by Goosebumps Titles (via Laughing Squid)

Sure, this song chock full of Goosebumps book titles came out way back in 2011, but it’s seasonally appropriate. Also R.L. Stine recently shared it. The cheekily titled number “You Give Me Goosebumps” is available for purchase on Bandcamp.

Continue reading

Hot Off the Proverbial Presses: February 10, 2015

10 Feb

Red QueenRed Queen by Victoria Aveyard

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

WHY WE’RE EXCITED: That cover and the dystopic premise. One of these days we’ll be able to say no to YA dystopias, but today is not that day.

Continue reading

Yes Virginia, Spider-Man Will Be Joining the Marvel Cinematic Universe

10 Feb

Spider-man MemePerhaps you didn’t have time to get on the internet today. In which case you probably missed the announcement that Sony and Marvel have joined forces and decided to share Spider-Man.

Now if only 20th Century Fox could get on board and let Marvel borrow the X-Men.

We know, we know, don’t look a gift horse in the mouth. Unless it’s a Trojan horse. Or Mr. Ed.

Continue reading

Hot Off the Proverbial Presses: February 3, 2015

3 Feb

Trigger Warning Neil GaimanTrigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman

Multiple award winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman returns to dazzle, captivate, haunt, and entertain with this third collection of short fiction following Smoke and Mirrors and Fragile Things–which includes a never-before published American Gods story, “Black Dog,” written exclusively for this volume.

In this new anthology, Neil Gaiman pierces the veil of reality to reveal the enigmatic, shadowy world that lies beneath. Trigger Warning includes previously published pieces of short fiction–stories, verse, and a very special Doctor Who story that was written for the fiftieth anniversary of the beloved series in 2013–as well “Black Dog,” a new tale that revisits the world of American Gods, exclusive to this collection.

Trigger Warning explores the masks we all wear and the people we are beneath them to reveal our vulnerabilities and our truest selves. Here is a rich cornucopia of horror and ghosts stories, science fiction and fairy tales, fabulism and poetry that explore the realm of experience and emotion. In “Adventure Story”–a thematic companion to The Ocean at the End of the Lane–Gaiman ponders death and the way people take their stories with them when they die. His social media experience “A Calendar of Tales” are short takes inspired by replies to fan tweets about the months of the year–stories of pirates and the March winds, an igloo made of books, and a Mother’s Day card that portends disturbances in the universe. Gaiman offers his own ingenious spin on Sherlock Holmes in his award-nominated mystery tale “The Case of Death and Honey”. And “Click-Clack the Rattlebag” explains the creaks and clatter we hear when we’re all alone in the darkness.

A sophisticated writer whose creative genius is unparalleled, Gaiman entrances with his literary alchemy, transporting us deep into the realm of imagination, where the fantastical becomes real and the everyday incandescent. Full of wonder and terror, surprises and amusements, Trigger Warning is a treasury of delights that engage the mind, stir the heart, and shake the soul from one of the most unique and popular literary artists of our day.

WHY WE’RE EXCITED: Neil Gaiman. Short fiction. Fantasy. Horror. Neil Gaiman. Science fiction. New American Gods story. Neil Gaiman. Yes. Yes. Yes.

Continue reading

My Year in Reading: Cassie-la’s January 2015 Reading List

2 Feb

January-2015-Reading-List

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
I finally got around to reading this psychological thriller about how both men and women are insane. It was well worth the wait.

Leave the Window Open by Victoria Schwab
This short story set after The Unbound is perfect for fans of The Archived series itching to learn a certain someone’s name.

The Woods Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 by James Tynion IV
An entire high school is beamed to another planet for seemingly nefarious reasons. Will they survive or will the monsters and wry humor kill them first?

Continue reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,512 other followers