Hot Off the Proverbial Presses: August 27, 2013

Love in the Time of Global Warming Francesca Lia BlockLove in the Time of Global Warming by Francesca Lia Block

Seventeen-year-old Penelope (Pen) has lost everything—her home, her parents, and her ten-year-old brother. Like a female Odysseus in search of home, she navigates a dark world full of strange creatures, gathers companions and loses them, finds love and loses it, and faces her mortal enemy.

In her signature style, Francesca Lia Block has created a world that is beautiful in its destruction and as frightening as it is lovely. At the helm of Love in the Time of Global Warming is Pen, a strong heroine who holds hope and love in her hands and refuses to be defeated.

WHY WE’RE EXCITED: Mainly because of the amazing title inspired by Love in the Time of Cholera, but also because we love the idea of a young girl going on an Odysseus-type quest to rescue her loved ones from all manner of fantastical baddies.

The Dark Between Sonia GenslerThe Dark Between by Sonia Gensler

A supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie  take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

WHY WE’RE EXCITED: Ghosts, ghosts and more ghosts! Seriously, we love a thrilling, down-right terrifying paranormal romance.

Bunnicula in a Box James HoweBunnicula in a Box by James Howe

Lock up your veggies and get out your garlic—the complete Bunnicula collection is now available as a boxed set!Something wicked this way hops… Join Harold, Howie, Chester, and of course, Bunnicula for seven thrilling adventures—all together for the first time in one fur-raising boxed set!This complete collection includes paperback editions of Bunnicula, Howliday Inn, The Celery Stalks at Midnight, Nighty-Nightmare, Return to Howliday Inn, Bunnicula Strikes Again, and Bunnicula Meets Edgar Allan Crow.

WHY WE’RE EXCITED: Our childhoods featured prominently around a vampire rabbit who drained the color out of vegetables. Plus, who doesn’t want to read something called Bunnicula meets Edgar Allan Crow? That was not rhetorical.

Two Boys Kissing David LevithanTwo Boys Kissing by David Levithan

New York Times bestselling author David Levithan tells the based-on-true-events story of Harry and Craig, two 17-year-olds who are about to take part in a 32-hour marathon of kissing to set a new Guinness World Record—all of which is narrated by a Greek Chorus of the generation of gay men lost to AIDS. While the two increasingly dehydrated and sleep-deprived boys are locking lips, they become a focal point in the lives of other teen boys dealing with languishing long-term relationships, coming out, navigating gender identity, and falling deeper into the digital rabbit hole of gay hookup sites—all while the kissing former couple tries to figure out their own feelings for each other. This follow-up to the bestselling Every Day showcases David’s trademark sharp-witted, warm-hearted tales of teenage love, and serves as a perfect thematic bookend to David’s YA debut and breakthrough, Boy Meets Boy, which celebrates its 10th anniversary in 2013.

WHY WE’RE EXCITED: David Levithan knows how to capture teen romance. And well. Don’t believe us? Check out his amazing novel Every Day, and kindly have done it yesterday.

Crown of Midnight Sarah J. MaasCrown of Midnight: A Throne of Glass Novel by Sarah J. Maas

She is the greatest assassin her world has ever known.

But where will her conscience, and her heart, lead her?

After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king’s contest to become the new royal assassin. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown – a secret she hides from even her most intimate confidantes. Keeping up the deadly charade—while pretending to do the king’s bidding—will test her in frightening new ways, especially when she’s given a task that could jeopardize everything she’s come to care for. And there are far more dangerous forces gathering on the horizon — forces that threaten to destroy her entire world, and will surely force Celaena to make a choice. Where do the assassin’s loyalties lie, and who is she willing to fight for?

WHY WE’RE EXCITED: We’ve heard amazing things about this fantasy series and we keep stumbling on it everywhere. Also, we’re not sure if the cover features Calaena or if it’s just Sesshomaru again. We really hate when this happens and it happens a lot.

A Monster Calls Patrick NessA Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

An unflinching, darkly funny, and deeply moving story of a boy, his seriously ill mother, and an unexpected monstrous visitor.

At seven minutes past midnight, thirteen-year-old Conor wakes to find a monster outside his bedroom window. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting– he’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the nightmare he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments. The monster in his backyard is different. It’s ancient. And wild. And it wants something from Conor. Something terrible and dangerous. It wants the truth. From the final idea of award-winning author Siobhan Dowd– whose premature death from cancer prevented her from writing it herself– Patrick Ness has spun a haunting and darkly funny novel of mischief, loss, and monsters both real and imagined.

WHY WE’RE EXCITED: This may very well be a reprint edition, but it still came out today! So it counts. Creepily illustrated and approved by Phillip Pullman, we’re on board.

Escape Velocity Charles PortisEscape Velocity: A Charles Portis Miscellany by Charles Portis

Though Charles Portis is best known for his fiction writing, he is also a prolific essayist, travel writer, and newspaper reporter. Collected here in Escape Velocity, edited by Jay Jennings, is his “miscellany” –– journalism, short fiction, memoir, and even the play Delray’s New Moon, published for the first time in this volume.  Portis covers topics as varied as the civil rights movement, road tripping in Baja, and Elvis’ s visits to his aging mother for publications such as the New York Herald Tribune and Saturday Evening Post.  Fans of Portis’s droll Southern humor and quirky characters will be thrilled at this new addition to his library, and those not yet familiar with his work will find a great introduction to him here.  Also included are tributes by accomplished authors including Donna Tartt and Ron Rosenbaum.

WHY WE’RE EXCITED: Charles Portis in non-fiction form! We hope his true stories are as strange as his prose. Something tells us they just might be.

The Treasure of Way Down Deep Ruth WhiteThe Treasure of Way Down Deep by Ruth White

When Ruby Jolene Hurley sees the shadow of her dead pet goat Jethro dancing on his grave, that’s the first hint that something strange is going on in Way Down Deep. Then on Halloween night, Miss Arbutus senses an evil wind blowing into town, and bad things start to happen. The coal mine shuts down, one hundred men lose their jobs, and all of Way Down feels the pinch. Ruby thinks the answer to their problems is the treasure that Archibald Ward, the town’s founder, supposedly buried more than two hundred years ago. Most people say the treasure is just a myth, but Ruby is determined to prove the naysayers wrong and save the day.

WHY WE’RE EXCITED: This novel had us going at the ghost of a goat dancing on his own grave and had us won over by its cute cover. It also helps that it kinda reminds us of The Goonies. We hope Pirate Ghosts didn’t do it.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s