Book Cover Battle: ‘The Gracekeepers’ by Kirsty Logan – US Cover VS. UK Cover

The Gracekeepers US UK

Since Kirsty Logan’s first full-length novel The Gracekeepers will be out in the United States tomorrow (May 19) and is already out in the United Kingdom, we thought we’d celebrate with a little book cover battle.

Which cover speaks to you? The US version (left) or the UK version (right)?

You can get a more in-depth look at the UK version — AKA the most beautiful thing ever — over in Cassie-la’s April 2015 book haul.

Read on for the synopsis and vote for which cover should win below.

For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven, a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland (“landlockers”) and those who float on the sea (“damplings”), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives–offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.


Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Book Cover Battle: ‘The Gracekeepers’ by Kirsty Logan – US Cover VS. UK Cover

  1. I’m in the minority in preferring the US cover (even though I’m from the UK). This is the first time I’ve seen an alternative cover, and *swoon* R x

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s