My Year in Reading: Cassie-la’s November 2016 Wrap Up

november-2016-book-wrap-up

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany (★★★☆☆)

I went into the so-called eighth book in the Harry Potter series with very low expectations, which was definitely the right move. While I found the beginning of the play to be enjoyable, by the second half, I was tired of the shenanigans and the ridiculous dialogue. It was acceptable fan fiction, but it was no Harry Potter.

Twisted Palace by Erin Watt (★★★★)

The final book in the ridiculously over-the-top Royals series has arrived and it ended with a bang — albeit an extremely predictable one. From the Pretty Little Liars-esque cliffhanger in Broken Prince, to all the open-ended love stories, the duo calling themselves Erin Watt make sure to tie everything up in a nice little bow.

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (★★★★½)

The second and last book in Leigh Bardugo’s amazing Six of Crows duology will break your heart in all the best ways! Get ready for romances, friendships and alliances to be tested and for your still-beating heart to be ripped from your chest. No one is safe from Bardugo’s clutches, and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

This is Our Story by Ashley Elston (★★★★½)

The River Point Boys drive the small town of Belle Terre into chaos when one of their own is mysteriously shot and killed on a routine hunting trip. Part thriller, part romance, all WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU KIDS WHAT ARE YOU EVEN DOING!?!, This is Our Story will have you guessing whodunnit as the novel speeds toward its inevitable conclusion.

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur (★★★★)

Another poetry collection in the vein of The Princess Saves Herself in This One, Milk and Honey came highly recommended based on my love of the former. While I didn’t find Rupi Kaur’s work to be as strong as Amanda Lovelace’s, there are some great pieces here, particularly in the closing section “The Healing.”

Heartless by Marissa Meyer (★★★★½)

Before she was Wonderland’s infamous Queen of Hearts, Catherine was a well-respected young lady with only one desire: to open her own bakery. Sadly for Cath, the King of Hearts and her parents, not to mention a sexy court jester have other ideas. From the author of The Lunar Chronicles comes another lushly written retelling, this time with an incredibly unhappy ending. Hells to the yes! [WATCH BOOK CLUB DISCUSSION]

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli (★★★★★)

This coming of age and coming out story follows hilarious introvert and drama nerd Simon Spier, who is slowly falling in love with the mysterious Blue, a student he only speaks to over email. Everything is going great until Simon’s secret sexual identity falls into the wrong hands and he’s forced to play an unwilling matchmaker for his classmate Martin and his best friend Abby. What could go right?

The Good Girls by Sara Shepard (★★★★)

My 25th Sara Shepard book shouldn’t have surprised me, but holy hell that twist ending had me metaphorically floored. The Good Girls wraps up The Perfectionists duology in typical Sara Shepard fashion: even more murders are committed and solved by our intrepid teens and their bad decision making skills, romances are broken and remade, and the bad guy/girl/twins live on to fight another day.

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire (★★★★★)

Beautifully penned and bizarrely plotted, Every Heart a Doorway explores what happens to children after they return from falling down rabbit holes and wandering through wardrobes. Mostly fantasy with touches of horror, this short novel about alternate universes and the children who slip into them is all about having the courage to write your own ending.


Bibliomantics 2016 Reading Challenges

2016 TBR Pile Reading Challenge (Sign Up)

Books Read This Month: 3
Totals: 34/27

2016 New Release Challenge (Sign Up)

Books Read This Month: 6
Totals: 39/14

2016 Finishing the Series Reading Challenge (Sign Up)

Series Caught Up On This Month: 5
Totals: 27/14

2016 Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge (Sign Up)

Books Read This Month: 4
Totals: 20/10

2016 Horror Reading Challenge (Sign Up)

Books Read This Month: 1
Totals: 11/7

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “My Year in Reading: Cassie-la’s November 2016 Wrap Up

  1. AW yeah! We both made all of our reading goals for the year!!! I keep seeing people post photos of Milk & Honey and I’m getting intrigued! I also really want to read The Perfectionists duology but I’m going to wait since we’re reading The Amateurs this month!

    • I really appreciated The Princess Saves Herself in This One way more as far as poetry collections go, but maybe you’ll find something you connect to in Milk & Honey!

      I still cannot get over the book two reveal in the Perfectionists duology. Once you get around to reading it we must discuss. =)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s