Waiting on Wednesday: ‘They Both Die at the End’ by Adam Silvera

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly series hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming book releases we can’t wait to get our hands on.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday pick is a contemporary novel with a deadly twist in the vein of Denton Little’s Deathdate: They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera.

At its core, Silvera’s new novel is about two boys falling in love, albeit ones who meet on an app after learning they’re both destined to die on the same day.

How’s that for a twist?

The Both Die at the End and it’s definitely depressing ending will hit shelves on September 5, 2017. Get your hankies ready!

New York Times bestselling author Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: ‘They Both Die at the End’ by Adam Silvera

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s