Waiting on Wednesday: ‘The Hazel Wood’ by Melissa Albert

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly series hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming book releases we can’t wait to get our hands on.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday pick sounds like it was written just for us: The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert!

The fantasy novel follows Alice, granddaughter of the famed cult classic author Althea, who is known for her dark fairy tale collection.

Alice chooses to steer clear of Althea’s stories and her fans, but is no longer able to ignore her legacy when her mother is kidnapped and dragged to the fictional Hinterlands.

The Hazel Wood hits shelves next year (which has to be better than 2017, right, right!?!). You can snag your copy on January 30, 2018.

Welcome to the Hazel Wood―a fiercely stunning contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of The Magicians.

Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the uncanny bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her luck can really get: Her mother is stolen away―by a figure who claims to come from the Hinterland, the cruel supernatural world where her grandmother’s stories are set. Alice’s only lead is the message her mother left behind: “Stay away from the Hazel Wood.”

Alice has long steered clear of her grandmother’s cultish fans. But now she has no choice but to ally with classmate Ellery Finch, a Hinterland superfan who may have his own reasons for wanting to help her. To retrieve her mother, Alice must venture first to the Hazel Wood, then into the world where her grandmother’s tales began―and where she might find out how her own story went so wrong.

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: ‘The Hazel Wood’ by Melissa Albert

  1. And you’ll have your copy soon! I’m shipping it out on Tuesday after filming this weekend<3 I started it yesterday and I'm in looooooove.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s